top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHow Kian Tan

The art of doodling - Zen tangling

It has been years since I last did drawing.

I was first introduced to this Zen tangling in one of the GMF Learning encounter by Dilip Patel, based in Bangalore, India (Learning Facilitator-Trainer, Certified Zentangle Teacher, TEDx Speaker, https://youtu.be/HSV8lIOFnZE).



I got hooked when he explained how we can use this Art therapy – Zen Tangling to taming our “Monkey Mind” and to reaching a meditative state of mind and mindfulness. And this art of doodling needs absolutely NO "schooling in art or designing". This has definitely encouraged me to give it a try.





It’s all started with “Let your pencil take a walk”. The objective is to use the pencil like it is taking a walk, without laying too much focus on how you are using it. And since it is meditative doodling, there is no set outcome, no mistakes, and no critical assessment of the work.




It’s completely out of my comfort zone as I am a person who always need a clear outcome to working on. Besides, I'm quite a perfectionist and OCD where often need to impose my own standards on outside environment. It has been affecting my mood (emotion), my relationship and even my health because I am easily triggered and feeling tense most of the time. Looks like Zen Tangling is perfectly a good practice and therapy for me to tame my "Monkey Mind".




Zentangle turns everyone into an artist including me. To my surprise, I have tangled 30 over pieces of Zentangle in 4 months. To a person like me who don’t draw nor doodling at all times, I am moved when start to do Zentangling. Most of the time, I tangle in a tiny sketchbook I keep in my laptop bag when waiting for appointments or meetings.






I find that Zentangling helps turn off the chatter in my mind. It also helps me to relax and get a feeling of general well-being. While tangling, I feel more at ease, focused, and quite centered. Furthermore, I find great enjoyment in reviewing tiles I have created.





This practice has transformed me from a person who always like to stay in comfort zone to a person continue to evolve. And now I even pay more attention in nature to look for the pattern that I can tangle. It is fascinating to fine the joy and calmness from practicing the Zentangle.


Maybe you should try it too. ;)


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page